African Union

NEPAD Council and the African Union


The African Union (AU) is a continental union consisting of 54 countries in Africa. The AU was established on 26 May 2001 in Addis Ababa and launched on 9 July 2002 in South Africa, with the aim of replacing the Organisation of African Unity (OAU).

A meeting between H.E. Mr. Erastus Mwencha, Deputy Chairperson of the African Union, and NEPAD Council was convened at the African Union mission in Washington, D.C on October 9, 2008. Other representatives of the African Union included H.E. Ambassador Amina Salumi Ali, Dr. Elham Mahmoud Ahmed (Commissioner for Infrastructure and Energy) and Mr. Moctar Yedaly (Head of Infrastructure and Energy).

Dr. Jabulani Dhliwayo (NEPAD Council President) and Dr. Appolinaire Djikeng (former NEPAD Council President) represented the Council while Dr. William Welty (CEO) represented SWANsat Holdings. The main items on the agenda were the SWANsat project and the integration of NEPAD Council into the African Union. Following the meeting, NEPAD Council is going through the process of joining the African Union Economic, Social and Cultural Council (ECOSOCC).

Comments are closed